Skip to content

Out of the Writer Cave pt 2 – Helene Young visits Coffs

September 1, 2012

One thing that renews and revigours the writing spirit is hanging out with writer colleagues. Since joining Romance Writers of Australia in 2007, I have been fortunate to meet amazing women who are published authors, aspiring authors, role models and friends. Though my befriending of authors is breaking my book budget, as yet another friend has a first sale or a 2nd or 3rd book release, these women are my inspiration and often my lifeline. They understand the ins and outs of the writing process, the exhiliration of when the writing almost writes itself or when a character comes to life on the screen. They understand the disappointment of rejection and buoy me when the writing or editing is not going as it should. Their eyes don’t glaze over when I talk about my characters as if they are real people, or ask to brainstorm another plot point. I know I would not have travelled so far in my writing journey without the friendships I have made through Romance Writers of Australia and the professional development I have gained through the organisation.

On the 8th August, Helene Young visited Coffs Harbour Library on her whirlwind library tour to promote her third novel, Burning Lies. I was excited by Helene’s visit as she is a fellow RWA colleague (we work on the executive committee together) as well as an author I admire. So the visit was marked in my diary for a long time.

There was a good turnout on the night and Liz Keen from ABC interviewed Helene. The ladies from the Book Warehouse were on hand with a beautiful display of Helene’s novels.

After the talk, I went out to dinner with Helene, Jenn J McLeod and Jeannette. It was lovely to talk writing and Helene advised me to ’embrace the edit’.

The following day, Helene had arranged a library talk at Bellingen Library with Bronwyn Parry and Karly Lane, and though Jenn, Bronwyn and Karly and I are all members of the 4PAN group, I never get to meetings as often as I like. We had a lovely morning tea on a glorious day in Bellingen before the library talk, and guess what we talked about?

With three authors in the hot chair this time, the conversation was lively and the audience asked many questions. The session was recorded to be played on local Bellingen radio, 2BBB. The librarian Sharon had also prepared many interesting questions, but it was the post-session conversation  that morphed from cowboys to safety procedures on airlines that had me laughing the most.

20120901-223906.jpg

But Helene’s visit was over all too soon. I finished the day with a lunch with Bronwyn and Karly before returning to my own writing cave, happy that I’d be seeing most of them again the following week at the Romance Writers of Australia conference on the Gold Coast.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2012 5:44 am

    It was a great time and fab to catch up.

  2. September 7, 2012 2:36 pm

    What a lovely time you all had!!! Wish I had some romance writers living near me.

Leave a Reply

