Skip to content

Expanding the mind…

November 30, 2011

There’s a type of fever going around my workplace. It’s a fever of self-improvement via fitness, via education.  I’ve witnessed bodies transform, body fat melt away, and passion for learning ignite.

This year has also been a year of transformation for me: embracing change, stepping outside my comfort zone, working on the fitness, expanding my mind and learning more about the craft of editing and writing, and jumping at new experiences.

I will stop short at expanding my mind through a university course — been there, done that (twice!) – the first time for free, the second time through HECS but I marched against the introduction of fees during the first stint. Fat lot of good it did us – the fees came rolling in and now have you seen the price of a Masters or a Ph.D?  I have more useful ways to spend my money than add more letters after my name. Not that I flaunt the letters now.

I don’t think I have the stamina to do another degree — or a purpose behind it. I’m proud of my workmates for taking it on and admire their passion. But I will be sticking to short courses (and it suits my Gemini ascendant so much more).

This month I’ve been doing an editing course with Margie Lawson – Fab 30.  We concentrate on 30 pages of our current manuscript, deep edit with an editing partner and Margie deep edits the pages as well.  I’ve found a fabulous editing partner Amy, and we are challenging each other and our stories. Cindy, Edward, Henry and Snow White are growing, developing, finding new depths and motivations.  I can totally recommend this course.  It’s given me motivation, focus and tools to write.

On Saturday, I’m catching the train to Sydney for an early family Christmas get-together. The train trip is a deliberate ploy as it will be 8 plus hours away from the internet — just me and my manuscript. I will get to inhabit the world of my characters for the duration of the train trip, and hopefully fill in the missing scenes.  On Monday, I will be going to the Harry Potter exhibition – it should be a lot of fun. I’ve decided to leave Picasso until my trip in March. By then the Sydney Picasso fever may have abated.

Two nights before I leave, loads of stuff still to do but for now my bed is calling…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2011 11:20 pm

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

  2. December 1, 2011 5:55 pm

    Good for you for trying new things – it must be the year for it, because I expanded my comfort zone as well.

    I’ve signed up for Margie’s DSDB course during Jan – wish me luck 🙂

    Enjoy your family Xmas celebrations, Harry Potter and getting stuck into Cindy’s story.

Leave a Reply

