Skip to content

Awesome August (and a bit of July) – in pictures

August 21, 2011

Before Write on Track turns into the Moving Pictures blog, I thought I’d explain where I’ve been for the last 3 weeks. Firstly I was at the State Theatre.  Okay one more Moving Pictures photo (with singer Alex Smith). See previous post for a review of the concert.

Then I jumped on the train/bus to Byron Bay and did a fiction masterclass followed by the Byron Bay Writers Festival.

Me with the very funny Tim Ferguson and Mandy Nolan – a great laughing start to the festival.

 

Me with Brendan Cowell – finally I get to read the second half of How it Feels, as I’d returned it to the library than couldn’t buy it anywhere – now I have an autographed copy.

Shortest Short Story - Artist Lucy Valder

I think the above piece of artwork sums up my life perfectly. But as long as we keep LOL’ing, it’s all good.

Sunbaking with a Passion - Samantha Collyer

Two days after Byron Bay Writers Festival, I flew to Melbourne for the Romance Writers of Australia Conference:

At the cocktail party, with Xaeda’s gorgeous peacock fan.

 

At the Awards Dinner with Juliet and Daniel.

The conference was fabulous, but more of that in another post.

Then I had two days free in Melbourne.

I went to the Queen Victoria Markets and took many photos of food for my text/collage project for the Food for Thought anthology, which will be released by Nambucca Valley Writers Group in November:

Then I went to Melbourne Theatre Company to see Hamlet: (should have taken a photo of the theatre but these 6.30pm start threw me). I caught a cab to the theatre as I did not want to take the risk of getting lost by tackling public transport at night in the south of Melbourne again.

After the show I caught up with John Adam, who played Claudius. Can’t believe it’s nearly 20 years since we worked together at Bell Shakespeare Company. Where did the time go?

Then on the walk back to my apartment, I took this photo. Yes, by the time I was about to leave Melbourne and too late for conference, I’d worked out how to use my new camera. But now that I have, I’ve a new-found passion for photography.And I bought a new hat in Melbourne – but its yet to make its debut.

So that was my last 3 weeks in a very quick pictorial summary. One more week before I return to the EDJ (evil day job). Words and detailed posts about events and my Moments of Enlightenment to come as soon as I establish my new writing life.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2011 6:22 pm

    Great blog post, love the pictures! You’ve obviously been meeting some amazing people (wink, wink). You could make a video with all those photos and put it on youtube, just a thought… 🙂

  2. August 21, 2011 6:31 pm

    I met some amazing pre-published authors as shown in one of those photos. Great to meet you Juliet.

    Hopefully I will have some more conference photos before I do my conference post.

  3. Louise Reynolds permalink
    August 21, 2011 6:34 pm

    Hey Diane,

    You’ve had a terrific couple of weeks. I’d be eyeing the EDJ with distaste as well 🙂 Great to see you in Melbourne.

Leave a Reply

