Skip to content

100k in 30 days???? Argh

May 29, 2011

What have I done?

I’ve signed up for Romance Writers of Australia’s 50ks in 30 days challenge for June, but instead of writing 50ks in 30 days, I will be editing 100ks in 30 days.  I am going to finish Beyond Happily Ever After by the end of June. It already has a reworked opening  but there’s still much work to be done.

I know I made promises to finish this damn book last year, but 2011 is a completely different beast to 201o.  For a start I’m not picking up the debris of my life following a break-up, I am settled, I am not looking for somewhere to live with all the baggage (both physical and emotional) that comes with moving, my day job is going well (extremely busy and pressured but good), and the universe is throwing great opportunities my way. Now I just need to focus and not get distracted by shiny new ideas, the internet or the black hole of youtube.

After a little bit of nudging in the Friday night chat, I have also committed to editing another manuscript in July.  This is my YA, Diary of the Future, and is thankfully just over 50ks. But still, editing two manuscripts in two months – I have never done that before.  But I have the tools.  This year, I have completed Margie Lawson‘s course ‘Empowering Characters’ Emotions and I am just finishing up her Deep Editing course. Deep breath! I can do this.

And my reward?  The Moving Pictures concert on 3o July, Byron Bay Writers Festival the next weekend, and the Romance Writers of Australia Melbourne conference the weekend after.  I think I’ll deserve that after two months of solid work (because there’s no time off the day job in June and July, except for one public holiday).

Ok, must go book my pitches at RWA to give me an external deadline. Deep breath (again). I can do this. I can.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 30, 2011 8:17 pm

    Just like Thomas – ‘I think I can, I think I can’. And I bet you can, Diane. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

