Skip to content

Hello blog, remember me?

December 30, 2010

It’s been so long since I’ve blogged that I think even the blog has forgotten who I am.

But we’re racing towards the end of 2010, and I  have decided to assess the year before I plough into 2011.

Firstly some most bodacious news:  My most lovely twisted fairytale princess Cindy has finalled in the 2011 STALI (single title) comp held by Romance Writers of Australia and I’m anxiously awaiting the results from the final judge. We were told the results should be in before Christmas, which has passed on by and it seems that Santa didn’t have any comp results in his sack.   However after receiving the initial results, I threw Cindy  back into the glass carriage and sent her off to another competition.

The first 3 chapters are well and truly polished until they are glittery and shiny  but the last third needs a work – namely working out what exactly happened with Snow White and those little men. I’ve written the final scene, I know exactly where it needs to end up but at the moment, Snow White is still being stubborn and refusing to reveal all.

So that news  made a really crappy year turn right around.  They say breaking up is hard to do and I’ll admit it did hit me hard…but now I’m getting very used to being single and enjoying my own company. Though obviously Facebook thinks I’m in dire need of a man with all the single ads they keep displaying to me. For now, I’ll stick  to hanging out with fictional men – especially Prince Henry.

In September I had to say goodbye to my beautiful boy cat Dorkus, after 16 years together.  We had a wonderful life together and Diary of a Mad Cat still has many great memories of him recorded. It was a very sad day when I took him to the vet, and I think I cried for a week later. But I was very impressed with the compassion of the vet, though the sympathy card I received a week later made me cry all over again.  I still miss him – it’s strange not having him wake me in the morning, and jump on the bed and make himself comfortable between my ankles. I know nothing will replace the boy cat, but in the new year, I’m hoping to get another furry friend.

Electronics have not been my friend lately.  My laptop died on my birthday (yes, happy birthday to you too!) and two weeks ago, my fridge sighed its last. Hopefully they are the last appliances I will need to replace for some time.  My brand new fridge has arrived, and its a delight to have real chill again. I never thought I’d reach the day where I was excited by a domestic appliance.

But I am also excited by my Christmas present to myself: an e-reader. Not only will I be able to read the stories of my e-published buddies, I can also load up my own works in progress in PDF format to read on the go.

I won’t be sad to say goodbye to 2010, and I’m looking forward to 2011 and what it may bring. See you on the other side of the New Year!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 2:08 pm

    welcome back to your own blog Diane. I hope you have a wonderful 2011!!!

Leave a Reply

