Skip to content

Looking forward to the future…

May 11, 2010

Wow, it’s been over 2 months since I blogged.  I guess that would be right. In that time, I’ve been riding the emotional waves of the breakdown of my relationship. Redesigning my life.  Working out what I want.  And taking the steps to create it.

The end has been coming for a while. And still it was unexpected. But I should have known. There were signs that he was building a life elsewhere.  Very clear signs that he wanted to be anywhere but here.  Trouble is, I didn’t share that feeling.  My friends are here, my job is here, my life is here.

I’m decluttering my life.  Both physically and emotionally.  Working out what’s important.  Working out what I need to survive. Working out what I need to thrive.  I’ll be moving back into town eventually. Back into civilisation. But first I will ride out the winter here, until my new place becomes available.

In this process of riding the emotional waves, I have discovered I have a fabulous support network:  friends both near and local, far away and online;  family;  and colleagues.

Last week I went to Sydney for my cousin’s wedding.  It was a great time to catch up with family and I made sure I caught up with a few long-time friends.  I also attended Rebecca James’ book launch of Beautiful Malice, hung out with Jennifer Gordon, and spent some time with the lovely Vanessa Barneveld.

But perhaps standing on Parramatta Rd at 10pm waiting for a bus was not a wise idea.  I came back to Coffs with Sydney germs. On the train home, I thought I had a bout of hayfever…but it was worse than that.  I’m only now starting to shake it.

I’m looking forward to the future.  I’m looking forward to my writers retreat this weekend at John’s River (with editing on Beyond Happily Ever After and collage poetry planned).  I’m looking forward to moving to my new place, getting some new furniture and setting everything up to suit me! (my pics, my style). I’m looking forward to the Bryon Bay Writers Festival.  I’m looking forward to the Romance Writers Australia conference in August.  5 nights in the Crowne Plaza Coogee? Bring it on. And I’m looking forward to 4 weeks long service leave that month.

There’s a lot to look forward to.  My whole life is ahead.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Karina permalink
    May 18, 2010 8:39 pm

    A lot to look forward to !! Lovely. Enjoy the decluttering (both physically and mentally) – I read that women need to do it at least every 7 years – from their wardrobe to their address books. HUGS <>

Leave a Reply

