Skip to content

Too many words, too little time

March 7, 2010

I’m working my way through Margie Lawson‘s Empowering Characters’ Emotions online course, feeling a little overwhelmed by the number of emails and trying to play catch up with the homework.

In Assignment 4, we had to do a Find on all our ‘overused’ words in the manuscript, and the results were mind-blowing.  My self-doubt dragon is roaring with laughter and it’s going to take a concerted effort to keep him in his cage.

Okay, I get it. My characters smile a lot, they nod a lot, they look a lot. They wonder, they watch, they realise. Occasionally, they even shrug.  There are lots of reference to ‘stomachs’ but I’ll excuse that because one of the major themes is pregnancy. I need to expand my repertoire of body language.

Apparently there’s a macro you can apply in MS Word that will give you all your overused words, not just the ones that you think you might be overusing.  I will apply it.  Not just yet.  I don’t want to give the SD dragon more ammunition to come out and play.  Let me get through the next lot of assignments first.

My reward books are piling up.  I have the two Erica Hayes‘ books to read (Shadow Fae & Shadow Glass), I have Nikki Logan‘s “Light’s Camera Kiss the Boss” and I have Rachel Bailey‘s “Claiming his Bought Bride” – all RWAus members’ books.  I’ve just finished reading the 2nd book of the Sookie Stackhouse series, and only have one book left in the omnibus. I’m looking forward to Book 4, because I’ve heard a lot about the shower scene and unlike someone I know, I don’t skip the sex scenes. Hey, they’re the fun bit!  But I am starting to regret asking for the omnibus for Christmas, and not waiting until the box set came out. Now I’ll have to buy the rest separately.

Sigh, (oh yeah, did I mention my characters sigh a lot – they get that from me) – lots of homework, lots of words to edit, lots of books to read. If only there was more than 24 hours in the day.

In the meantime, I shall have sweet dreams of Eric Northman…

Now…I’d have all the time in the world for him…

SIGH…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 12:29 am

    Diane —

    Loved reading about your Ah-Ha’s from my ECE class. Sounds like you can’t wait to fill the shelves in your mind with a million ways to write fresh body language.

    You will!

    No more empty use-it-as-a-beat looks, smiles, and sighs for you. 🙂

    See you in class!

  2. March 9, 2010 9:48 am

    Good on you for doing the course, Di. It sounds like a lot of work but worth it I’m sure. I know I use ‘she’ too much not to mention ‘sigh and chuckle’. Ahh, but it’s all in the learning I suppose.
    Good luck with the remainder of the course, you’ll do great.
    Tam

Leave a Reply

