Skip to content

Nano begins

November 1, 2009

It’s the end of the first day of Nanowrimo and with a word count of 3004 and a body count of 1, I’m quite satisfied.  My story opens with Hilda McGeachin choking to death on one of her pumpkin scones, leaving the presidency of the Bilby Creek Show committee vacant. With the unfortunate death of two older committee members before the story opens, the committee needs some fresh blood very quickly. I had planned that Wally was also going to meet an unfortunate end, necessitating his niece Kirsty’s return to Bilby Creek but she’d already decided that she’s coming back before I had a chance to give him a heart attack.  So I guess I should have killed him off in Book 1 when I had the chance.

Various 146

All my words have been written with my new toy, the wonderful desktop version of ‘Write or Die’. The new features on the desktop version are fabulous with lots of adjustable settings in font, colour, sound files. It keeps track of your highest score, your average words per hour and there is a word war feature so you can challenge another person to a word war. No more lost words, which I occasionally encountered in the online version – the desktop version allows you to keep adding to a text file and timestamps each new entry.  I have Write or Die set up on my netbook so tomorrow at lunchtime if I stop writing, my colleagues will be in for a surprise when ‘Peanut Butter Jelly’ or screaming babies burst out of my speakers. I love Write or Die – it makes me focus on the story and switches off the internal editor. Though, I did try it with the disable backspace feature and that sent me insane. I have to have the ability to backspace because I sometimes change my mind mid sentence or type the wrong name.

My characters are on Twitter are very excited that they will be in a new story – Kirsty has been tweeting most of the day. With the new Twitter ability to create lists, I have a list of my characters and you can follow them here: http://twitter.com/chickollage/my-characters . Of course, their tweets will also still appear on the sidebar of this blog.

My Nano report card tells me that if I continue at this rate, I’ll hit the 50k target on November 17.  That’s a big ‘if’. It’s a nice day one but I’m not sure I can do that pace on the days that I’m working.  But the great news is I won’t be going to the day job every day of November. I’ll have two whole weeks off, so maybe, just maybe, I’ll be able to complete this story…wherever it’s going.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2009 4:20 pm

    Yah, good Luck with the NaNo, Diane.

    Also wondering how your fairing with the rain and floods. It looks pretty bad again.

    Suz 🙂

  2. November 11, 2009 5:33 am

    jeez, nothing but dust storms and floods in Oz these days.

    I checked out Write or Die- VERY scary….

Leave a Reply

