Skip to content

Hypothetical Deadlines

October 5, 2009

It’s Monday of the holiday weekend. Daylight savings has kicked in and I’m feeling jet lagged and hazy without going anywhere. Too much sleep? Perhaps.

My absenteeism from the blog has seen it plummet on the list of Top 50 Australian Writing Blogs by 44 places. I’m no longer in the Top 50 but instead the We Love YA blog has shot up 55 places to no. 30 so I’m proud of that. Now to get the Romance Writers of Australia blog on the next listing.

I’ve been busy editing and polishing and agonising, submitting to contests. Getting feedback from contests, both motivational,constructive, and sometimes debilitating. And polarising – 132/135 & 82/135 for the same entry? What do you mean a story has to start at the beginning? Guess she’s never never read a non-linear story before. 2nd judge just did not get it. It has really proven to me how subjective judging is.

But in all this editing and polishing and submitting, I have hit a writing dilemma – well it’s more a deadline dilemma. The dilemma of the hypothetical deadline.

What’s a hypothetical deadline?  It’s one of these:  If your manuscript is selected, you will have 72 hours to provide the full manuscript. That was part of a recent writing opportunity I entered — submit the partial, and if selected, the time bomb would start to tick. So theoretically, the date of the announcement of the selections was the deadline for the full manuscript to be polished. But the ‘if’ made it a hypothetical, ‘pie-in-the-sky’, an ‘I can only dream’ that this will happen.

It did not make it real.

Despite my self-talk of ‘when they call me’ and working out a time-line of how many pages I needed to edit each day to make the deadline, my confidence in the project vacillated so much with varied feedback from contest judges (see above) and  critique partners that in the end, I did not make the hypothetical deadline. Other pressures of having to reapply for my job (and that application went through 4 drafts) along with building the Social Media function for Romance Writers of Australia (as part of my new role as Social Media Manager) ate up a lot of potential editing time.  And then the deadline withered up and disappeared as if it had never even existed, with the email that began “Dear Writer”.

I was both disappointed and relieved. But I haven’t looked at Beyond Happily Ever After since — it will go on the backburner for a while. I’ve returned to Making the Cut, preparing it for another contest and submission to publishers. It feels good to be back in Bilby Creek – the town is so familiar to me that it’s like a homecoming, and the characters of Bilby Creek are my friends. The full manuscript of Making the Cut will go into this competition  (and the deadline is real and unmoveable). The first 3 chapters of the sequel, Reality Check, have been submitted to another comp, and I plan to write the next in the series during Nanowrimo.  Yep, it’s good to be home.

chloe imageLuke imagekirstyimage

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2009 9:04 pm

    Great to see you ‘home’. You sure have been busy lately & have been doing a wonderful job I might add.

    Good luck with ‘Making the Cut’! 🙂

  2. January 2, 2010 5:29 pm

    What WordPress theme are you using?

Leave a Reply

