Skip to content

Off to Byron

August 5, 2009

I’m off to Byron Bay Writers Festival 6.30 tomorrow morning. Can you hear my brain already screaming in protest? I am so not a morning person. Let’s hope I can function when I get there for the fab-sounding Nuts & Bolts seminar.

But first I found a poem today in one of my notebooks, aptly wedged between grocery lists:

dreams of youth

drifted away

squashed by the reality

of mundane

domestic unbliss

housework

telephone bills

grocery lists

time to dream again

in between

the coffee

and

the cornflakes

Yes, life has been rather mundane lately but going to Byron Bay (and taking my bat wings) is sure to cure that. Besides, I have a week and a half off  work, I’m spending the next four days with my NVWG writing buddies, and then I have another week off. While many other lucky RWA members are heading to Brisvegas for this year’s conference, I’ll be doing the Clayton’s Conference, assisting Sandie Hudson and Rhian Cahill with the organisation and (shudder) giving a workshop on Writing Sex Scenes. In between all that, I’ll be editing both Beyond Happily Ever After (the 12 inch version – I mean, the 65k version) and also polishing up the first 3 chapters of Reality Check for the STALI contest.

I had hoped to post a blog each night from Bryon Bay and twitter frequently, but unless I hook into free wi-fi, that’s not going to happen. I made enquiries about getting mobile broadband with my ISP but that required a credit check despite the fact I’ve been a loyal customer for three years. To me, that just isn’t good customer service – it might be their customer policy but stuff that, the universe is telling me that I don’t need mobile broadband. Besides, it will only distract me from the writing and the editing.  I will aim to write up a blog post each day regardless & post them to the blog when I get back. Maybe next year I will have prepaid mobile broadband. It’s just not going to happen this year.

So see you in five days, unless I see you in Byron Bay.

100_0051

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2009 6:05 pm

    Did you notice the sign is missing something? Should be Writers’ Festival. Lol.

    Have fun, Di.

    • Diane Curran permalink*
      August 5, 2009 6:57 pm

      there is no apostrophe on any of the literature for the festival. I find the apostrophe after writers really annoying anyway, I don’t use it when referring to my writers group if I can avoid it.

  2. Diane Curran permalink*
    August 10, 2009 9:04 am

    Mon, here is the reason that there is no apostrophe.

    It is not a festival owned by writers, therefore requiring a possessive apostrophe.

    It is a festival of writers, therefore the ‘writers’ is modifying the noun. No apostrophe required.

Leave a Reply

