Skip to content

New toy…I mean…writing implement

July 6, 2009

Look ma, I have a new toy writing implement.

Yes, I got myself a netbook, so now I can write anywhere.

Had been thinking about getting one and my Alphasmart’s bottom row of keys ceasing operation swayed me towards the decision sooner rather than later. A push from Flexirent about the fate of the old laptop and I decided to take the leap.

I’m blogging from my new toy writing implement. Right now.

Isn’t she a beauty?

home 006

Damn! I should have done this at the beginning of June, when the netbook would have been so handy during the 50ks in 30 days writing challenge. Instead I only made 62% of my goal. But that is still 31,000 words plus that I didn’t have at the beginning of the month. And the story continues. Apparently when a Prince kisses you as if waking you from a coma (a la Snow White, Sleeping Beauty), you have to marry him.  I didn’t know that until Prince Liam told Olivia, after he’d given her the heart-jolting kiss. Who needs a fibrillator when you have a Prince Charming around?

July is editing month. I have a couple of competition deadlines. One towards the end of the month and a couple in September, and I want to get these manuscripts polished and submitted. Write Edit Submit – remember? 

But I will continue writing. I have joined a challenge group – 500 words a day. I figure that’s a sizeable amount to achieve a couple of projects a year, but not too large wordcount, that I will think I can’t be bothered even trying today. I’ve already knocked off 583 words today at lunchtime on my new toy writing implement.

You’ll notice on the screen I have Write or Die – the first website to go into my favourites. Well, I had to try out the keyboard. Admittedly, I think it’s going to take a little getting used to, but so far it’s not too bad. I did have to rescue some words with Control-Z today. Hopefully, my hands will adapt.

so this is the gameplan. A minimum of 500 new words a day to keep up my challenge commitment and editing, synopsising, query writing  in the evening.

My new toy writing implement is going to help me achieve my goals and my challenge groups are going to keep me accountable.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2009 11:11 pm

    Hey, Diane!

    What a cute toy–errr–writing implement. 😉 I recently broke down and got an Acer “mini” (less than 11 inches long–just big enough I can’t stuff it in a pocket and accidentally send it through the laundry ;-).

    New technology is such fun–errr–I mean, such an inspirational new way to meet our writing goals and get work done.

    Keep writing! 😀
    ~Saoirse
    Author of the 13 to Life series, coming from St. Martin’s Press in 2010.

  2. July 6, 2009 11:38 pm

    Congrats! It’s a beauty. Happy challenge.

  3. July 7, 2009 12:39 am

    ohhh I want one now..

  4. July 7, 2009 1:24 am

    Definitely a beautiful toy…uhum… writing instrument. Enjoy!

  5. Lyn Thiry permalink
    July 7, 2009 7:48 am

    Hi Di, Congrats on new toy; lets be real. How does Olivia recognise the real thing, I have been kissed fibrimatically, shuddered into some
    semblence of alertness only to find the Prince was a holigraph; and the
    proverbial wizard (perhaps from oz) had projected him inadvertantly
    down under (not kissing down under) well not for publication anyway.
    Have a great day, your writings always give me a chuckle. Love Lyn T.

  6. July 8, 2009 3:29 pm

    LOL… Well all our writing implements are toys that we just need aren’t they. lol..

    Nice btw… I still love my laptop…it works really well and serves it’s purpose. 🙂

    Are you going to the conference??

  7. Karina permalink
    July 12, 2009 12:16 am

    What a fab new toy!! I have been looking at them lately and thinking about trading in my 14 inch toshiba for something more travel sized.

Leave a Reply

