Skip to content

Writer’s Meme

May 14, 2009

Okay, I’ve been a little absent from my blog lately. My head has been in editing land. Sandie has instituted nightly writing or editing sprints, and along with an encouraging but ‘no pressure’ post-it note from my beta reader, I’ve been speeding through the edits, and feeling very productive.

My critique partner, Kiki, posted this meme to her blog on Monday, so I thought I would answer the questions as well.

What’s the last thing you wrote?

An article for a work newsletter.  The names of the characters of the ongoing soapie are creative, if nothing else.

Was it any good?

Let’s see what the boss says. And then her boss.

What’s the first thing you ever wrote that you still have?

I have a ‘book’ I wrote in 5th grade called The Everyday Adventures of Witches. It won second prize in the book competition for book week. Very tattered now.

Write poetry?

I wrote really bad love poetry when I was a teen and have the rejection slips from Dolly magazine to prove it.
Now I assemble poetry instead of writing it and you can find my collage poetry here – Chickollage

Very occasionally, a ‘real’ poem will slip out.

Angsty poetry?

sometimes

Favourite genre of writing?

Chick lit, not that there’s anything wrong with that. And young adult.

Most fun character you ever wrote?

Kat in I’m with the Band – she gets to live completely out of her comfort zone, and does stuff that I could not imagine ever doing, like jumping out of a plane.

Most annoying character you ever wrote?

Libby in Kissing Toads was very annoying. she was always the party pooper, nay-saying everything or whining about stuff. And yet somehow, she got a guy. A neurotic psychologist. I think they were perfect for each other.

Best plot you ever wrote?

I’m really  not good at this self-analysis stuff and at 11.15 at night, I can barely remember any plot, let alone the best plot I wrote. Okay, having a diary in which you can write the future and it comes true would be way cool.

Coolest plot twist you ever wrote?

Beyond Happily Ever After severely twists the Cinderella story and I had so much fun with that!

How often do you get writer’s block?

I don’t believe in writer’s block anymore. I just get on Write or Die and write my way through it. Now editing block…that’s a whole other thing.

How do you fix it?

Write or Die.

Write fan fiction?

No. I’d rather invent it all.

Do you type or write by hand?

A bit of both, but mostly typing for now.

Do you save everything you write?

Yes. Except for the stuff that have been lost to former hard drives.

Do you ever go back to an old idea long after you abandoned it?

Sometimes ideas need a long time to percolate to find the right vehicle, character or right opportunity.

The idea for Diary of the Future came to me many years before.

The idea for Are you a Real Person? started as notes for a screenplay, and a year later became a short story.

What’s your favourite thing that you’ve written?

I’m very fond of Beyond Happily Ever After at the moment. Maybe because I’m not in the middle of editing it. But that will change very soon.

What’s everyone else’s favourite thing that you’ve written?

The short story version of Beyond Happily Ever After has been read by many people and liked. But Are you a Real Person? has its own little fan club in my work environment. Very close to the possible truth.

Do you even show people your work?

yes, I’m building a fan club at work, plus I have beta readers and critique partners.

Who’s your favourite constructive critic?

my lovely critique partner, Kiki

Did you ever write a novel?

See page ‘My Stories’ – 7 novels in various states of development

Have you ever written fantasy, sci-fi, or horror?

No fantasy. Are you a Real Person? was quite futuristic.

Ever written romance or teen angsty drama?

yes and yes. though I say I’m writing chick lit, my chicks always get a happy ending.

What’s your favourite setting for your characters?

I love the town of Bilby Creek, and have two novels set there so far.

What’s one genre you have never written, and probably never will?

Mystery.  Too much pre-planning involved.

How many writing projects are you working on right now?

I am trying so hard to focus on one project at a time.

So I’m editing one Making the Cut, with approx 50 pages to go.

Then I’ll edit Beyond Happily Ever After for a comp.

Then I’ll write another 50ks in 30 days in June.  Not sure what I’ll write yet. It might be the next installment of Bilby Creek. But with another two weeks before June, anything could happen.

Do you want to write for a living?

I get paid to string together words into coherent sentences, but I don’t get paid to write creatively. Yet.

Have you ever written something for a magazine or newspaper?

Beyond Happily Ever After was published in Wet Ink magazine.

I’ve written many press releases for newspapers.

Have you ever won an award for your writing?

I won this beautiful trophy for a collage poem. Shame I had to hand it back a year later.

000_0276

And a second prize for Beyond Happily Ever After.

Ever written something in script or play format?

I’ve written a few plays and some of them have even been performed.

What are your five favourite words?

Do you mean the words I use too often? Or the words I like?

I’ll come back to this question.  Maybe.

Do you ever write based on yourself?

I use situations I’ve experienced to inform my writing. Doesn’t everybody?

What character that you’ve written most resembles yourself?

Funny enough, the character’s name is Diane and she appears in “I’m with the Band” as a crazy fangirl, meets the lead singer and Kat, the main character in a pub in Coffs and wrongly assume that Kat is the singer’s husband. When I was writing the story, I was depressed one night, was close to a scene where the band was coming through town, and I thought ‘I wish I could go and have a drink with the band,” and then realised, I could.  As the author, I had that power. Next thing, I had a cameo in the story.

Hey if Stephenie Meyer can have a cameo in the Twilight film, I can have a cameo in my story.

Where do you get ideas for your other characters?

I watch and I listen and I learn. Watch out everybody – you may end up in a book.

Do you ever write based on your dreams?

I used to write my dreams down, but I don’t remember writing any stories based on them. However, I can go to bed with a problem with my story, and wake up with the answer. And I love that half awake time when I don’t have to go to work for thinking out a scene.

Do you favour happy endings, sad endings, or cliff-hangers?

Give me a Happy Ending every time.(sorry tune from The Pirate Movie is in my head now).

I hated the ending of Oscar and Lucinda so much, I threw the book against the wall. I’m not usually violent with books.

Have you ever written based on an artwork you’ve seen?

I don’t remember.

Are you concerned with spelling and grammar as you write?

It can all be fixed. I write fast and furious.

Ever write something entirely in chatspeak? (How r u?)

No. I prefer real words.

Entirely in L337?

Never.

Was that question completely appalling and un-writer like?

Yes, don’t ask me again.

Does music help you write?

Depends on what I’m writing.  Are you a Real Person? first draft was written at a bad heavy metal concert to try and tune out the music.

I’m with the Band required a very loud soundtrack to create the ambience of being at a gig.

Are people surprised and confused when they find out you write well?

Not anymore.

But sometimes I’m surprised and confused when I find out I write well.

Sometimes I will read and older piece of work and can’t remember writing it.

Quote something you’ve written. The first thing to pop into your mind.

Hangnail moon

Bears witness to the terror

But cannot be subpoened.

Your turn! You know you’ve been looking for an excuse to procrastinate…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2009 10:25 am

    I loved reading your answers. I’m endlessly fascinated by how other writers work.

  2. May 22, 2009 8:08 am

    Hi Diane,
    I forgot about Margie’s colour scheme, I might make some use of it afterall. lol..

    Yes, I know what you mean about the rain, wind, and flooding. It hasn’t stopped here, and being so close to the beach, the ocean is so, so, loud, rising tides and wind like I’ve never experienced.

    Keep safe,
    They are warning us here not to go outside, which at times is a little hard.

    Be safe

Leave a Reply

