Skip to content

A Tribute to Mum

April 30, 2009

I started feeling melancholy on the weekend and tweeted about why anything (especially people) have to have an expiry date.

I think it’s because I was heading towards this date.

30th April 2009 – the day my mother would have turned 60.

The anniversary of death can slip past now as just another day, but today I feel poignant, empty, because it’s a day I should have been celebrating with my mother.

old2_0011

I remember as we approached Mum’s 40th birthday, she insisted that she didn’t want a surprise party. She was concerned that if a party was arranged, she’d be stuck celebrating her birthday with a bunch of drunks and people she didn’t want to spend time with. We’d planned a suprise but as most of the family were in on the planning, we knew exactly what she would like.

We took her to a Woolshed dinner at Picton, surrounded by her Gourmet Club pals, her cake decorating friends and everyone who’s company she enjoyed. And she loved it.

We never got to celebrate her 50th birthday – she passed away, far too young, at 48 years old.

I wonder what Mum would have been like at sixty…

Still cake decorating?  I’m certain.

Still going to the cinema and rocking the whole row of chairs with her infectious laughter? I’m sure.

Still chatting to anyone who breathed?  Undoubtedly.

Still cooking the best roast chook in town?  To perfection.

1986_0006

Revelling in being a grandmother?  And loving it!

Reading my stories?  And adding her own suggestions for plot twists.

Mum would still be cooking, and cake decorating, and belly laughing. She’d be having fun with her family, and adoring her grandkids. She’d probably have given Arnold Schwarznegger the flick for Hugh Jackman. She’s still be buying subscription tickets for the Ensemble Theatre and winning movie tickets. And she’d still be Mum.

Thanks Mum for making me who I am today.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2009 9:27 pm

    I’m so sorry that you are going through this. It is very difficult to lose a parent – especially a wonderful one as your mom sounds. I’m happy that you are able to celebrate her memory.

  2. April 30, 2009 9:55 pm

    Diane, what a lovely tribute to your Mum. I sure she would be so proud of you and what you have achieved and the wounderful woman you are.

    It is hard celebrating a parents birthday when they are no longer with us. Hugs to you.
    Sandie

  3. April 30, 2009 10:03 pm

    Diane, I’m sure she’s smiling down at you with pride. Gorgeous pics.

    Sending cyber cuddles your way.

    🙂 Mon

  4. April 30, 2009 10:32 pm

    What a beautiful tribute to your mum, Diane. My thoughts are with you.

    {{{Hugs}}}} Vanessa

  5. Karina permalink
    May 1, 2009 1:07 am

    Beautiful words and gorgeous memories in those photos.

    <>

  6. May 1, 2009 5:39 pm

    What a lovely tribute, Diane. I’m sur your mum is proud of you and smiling all the way.
    Hugs
    Serena
    xx

  7. May 4, 2009 10:53 pm

    Diane, what a beautiful post about your mum and celebrating her memory. Hugs.

  8. May 6, 2009 9:26 pm

    my thoughts with you too…light a candle 🙂

Leave a Reply

