Skip to content

Monday Meme

April 13, 2009
tags: ,

Tired of all of those surveys made up by high school kids?! ‘Have you ever kissed someone? Missed someone? Told someone you loved them? Drank alcohol?’

Questions for people who are a little more mature…

What bill do you hate paying the most?

Water rates. All this rain falling from the sky, water tank out the back but the pump is broken and the landlord still hasn’t got around to fixing it.

Where was the last place you had a romantic dinner?

It was a gift from a sponsor of an arts event, we were picked up in a limo and taken to one of the local hotel restaurants for a three course dinner – we saved the gift to use on my birthday. It was a few years ago now, we don’t eat out a lot.

What do you really want to be doing right now?

travel

How many colleges did you attend?

Two Uni’s and a year of a writing course at a TAFE

Why did you choose the shirt that you have on right now?

I’m still in my pj’s. It’s a public holiday and the man is not awake, so I don’t have to get dressed yet, do I?

What are your thoughts on gas prices?

Just plain annoying. As I live 30ks out of town, the fluctuating price of petrol is something I have to adapt to.

First thought when the alarm went off this morning?

Have to make my Telecross call.

Last thought before going to sleep last night?

How did it get to to be so late?

Do you miss being a child?

I miss being able to lose myself totally in books. Now, there are too many other factors and interruptions which means I’m rarely totally absorbed. And I miss my mum.

What errand/chore do you despise?

Cleaning the shower. Actually, I think housework is a time-suck and I have delegated all washing and washing up to the man. But he won’t clean the shower.

Get up early or sleep in?

Sleep in. I am such a night owl. If I had my way, the day wouldn’t start till after noon.

Have you found real love yet?

Yes.

Favorite lunch meat?

At the moment, I eat a combination of turkey breast and ham with lots of other stuff in a toasted mountain bread.

What do you get every time you go into chain store (KMart, bigW, WalMart, target, etc)?

silly question – I head straight to the book department, and sometimes DVDs.

Beach or lake?

the beach at dusk.

Do you think marriage is an outdated ritual?

I don’t see how it would change my relationship. To me, it just seems like a big industry, and something that pleases everyone but the bride and groom.

Sopranos or Desperate Housewives?

Desperate Housewives though I’ve stopped watching now.

What famous person would you like to have dinner with?

Diablo Cody  (and not to be pedantic, but the question should be “which famous person”)

Have you ever crashed your vehicle?

Bad car accident in my mum’s car when I was 20, returning from a pizza delivery. Drunk driver came through red light and rammed straight into me. I spent a month in hospital, broken femur, pelvis, ribs and a hole in my tongue where I bit it, 4 months on crutches and him? He tried to run away from the accident but was stopped by witnesses, and lost his licence for 3 months.

Ever had to use a fire extinguisher for its intended purpose?

Yes, my first car was a VW named Helga. She caught on fire on a drive to Newcastle just over the Mooney Mooney bridge and I put it out with my fire extinguisher. At the side of the engine, there were unconnected trailer cables which had set off sparks into hessian material. Was pleased that my father had purchased the extinguisher.

Ring tone?

bellydance type music.

Strangest place you have ever brushed your teeth?

bottled water on a felucca on the Nile. Or bottled water in the Nuweibi desert on a camel safari with the Bedouin. Or bottled water on top of Mount Sinai after sleeping the night.

Somewhere in California you’ve never been and would like to go?

I went to Cali when I was 12 so it was the Disneyland/Hollywood trip. Would love to go to San Francisco, but I think that there are other places in the US that have a stronger pull for me over Cali e.g Grand Canyon, New York

Do you go to church?

No.

How old are you?

Old enough to be worried about my health. Young enough to be reading YA books (and writing them) and watching cartoons.  18 years older than the age of my father when he passed away. And now catching up with the age that my mother passed away. And if you really want to know my actual age, it’s on the blog.

Do you have a “go to” person?

My partner, mostly.

Are you where you want to be in life?

I’m surrounded by great people, great writers and I’m on the right path. Of course some financial security would be nice…

Growing up, what was your favorite cartoon?

I liked Wacky Races as a kid. And then came the more adult cartoons, Ren and Stimpy. But then I regressed back to Rugrats and Catdog. Love both of them. Why isn’t Catdog available on DVD?

What about you do you think has changed the most?

My weight changed that’s for sure (I connect it to the car accident above and my metabolism changing in 4 months of not walking). I did a lot of personal development stuff in my early twenties, became more accepting of my childhood, and learned to be pro-active instead of reactive. You make your own choices in life.

Looking back at high school…were they the best years of your life?

Not high school itself, but my life outside of high school was fun. I was a member of the local theatre group, growing in confidence through acting and singing on stage, and that was also where I first discovered writing. I responded well to external motivation – the leaders of the theatre group said “if you write a play, we’ll put it on.” So I did. And they did. And there’s no better feeling than being an audience listening to them laughing (when they’re supposed to) at lines you have written. I also wrote my first novel at this time, and handed it around at school chapter by chapter. It was totally crap (looking back) but my readership at the time loved it, and it showed me I could write something of a significant length. Other than that, at school itself, I tried to fly under the radar.

Are there times you still feel like a kid?

Not a lot.

What was a “fad” you remember from your childhood?

rollerskating, shrinking chip packets by placing them on the heater or in the oven, boob tubes and bubble skirts,

Did you have a pager?

No, but I used to send naughty messages to a guy I fancied on his pager. Or just silly ones.

Where was the “hang out” spot when you were a teenager?

The Mall.

Were you the type of kid you would want your children/friends children to hang out with?

I was reasonably cautious as a kid and studious, so I think so. But I still managed to get up to mischief. Perhaps my next door neighbour’s mum didn’t want him hanging out with me anymore after I gave him a haircut.

Who do you think impacted your life the most?

I don’t think I can pin it down to one person, so many great people, so many influences. Though there was this one wonderful guy who showed me exactly what a relationship could be: based on integrity and honesty.

Was there a teacher or authority figure that stood out for you?

Again, don’t think I can pin it down to one teacher, though when I was in high school I went to an HSC lecture in the city given by uni professors. One particular lecture made me want to study English at Uni – I think the lecturer’s name was Bruce. By the time, I got him as a lecturer at Uni, I’d broken my leg and was in hospital (see car accident above) and had to listen to his lectures on tape instead.

Do you tell stories that start with “when I was your age”?

I hear my partner say “in my days” a lot. When I’m talking to my favourite teen, I try not to say ‘when I was your age’ those statements tend to be generalisations  anyway. Instead, I try to drill down to specifics and say, “when I did this…”. Maybe I’ll say “when I was 19” rather than when I was your age. Our conversations are often by IM so I don’t drag out the anecdotes so much.  I’m trying to impart my experience in an honest way to encourage her to be honest with me, and I think it is working so far. I’m never going to say, “Don’t do this” to her, but I’m willing to be completely honest about what I did, and the mistakes I made,  in the hope she may consider possible consequences. However, I also know she’s got to make her own mistakes and experience things for herself.

Okay, that’s enough navel-gazing for me today – back to the editing.

It’s your turn now!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Karina permalink
    April 13, 2009 9:53 pm

    Some very good questions and answers. The description of the car crash made me gulp. I cant believe thats all he got.
    Shall post it over to my facebook notes after I think some more !!

    • Diane Curran permalink*
      April 13, 2009 10:00 pm

      I’ve posted a photo the police took after the accident on the blog a long time ago. I will find the link.

  2. Diane Curran permalink*
    April 13, 2009 10:18 pm

    Here’s the link to the photo of the accident, at the bottom of the post:

    https://dianecurran.wordpress.com/2008/06/15/my-brilliant-pizza-career/

  3. Karina permalink
    April 17, 2009 10:01 pm

    Oh my god – you did well to actually survive that – the drivers side took all the impact.

Leave a Reply

