Skip to content

Twitter Addiction and other things

April 12, 2009

It’s Easter Sunday, the Easter Bunny has visited (yum!) and in less than two hours I have to go to work. Not expecting it to be busy so I’ll be taking my paper copy of chapters 20 onwards of Making The Cut, and I’ll find out exactly what makes the cut. It’s good to grab some time away from the net, I am so addicted, I think I need therapy. Twitter is the latest addiction, and it seems simple enough when it’s only in 140 character grabs, but when you’ve followed a lot of people, it can feel like you’re drowning in all the Tweets.

Then your characters also start Tweeting, and tweet about the author and argue with the author. Or get bored because the author is editing a scene that they’re not in, so go onto Twitter and send replies to fake celebrities, and sometimes real celebrities, or start having conversations with author’s writing friend’s pen names, then we know we have a serious problem.

Maybe I should be certified.

But if I’m going down, then I’m taking Sandie/Cassandra with me.

Back to the reason why I’m blogging today:

loathinglola

To wind up the week-long launch party of the  fabulous new Young Adult fiction blog We Love YA , I have interviewed Aussie Young Adult writer William Kostakis and by commenting over there, you will have a chance to win a signed copy of Loathing Lola.  So drop by and say hello!

And now it’s back to splicing a sex scene from deleted chapter 10 to chapter 18. Wish me luck!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2009 12:42 pm

    You sooooo have a problem. Before you know it I will too, so I shouldn’t talk! Lol.

  2. April 12, 2009 10:53 pm

    I have noticed you two get in there and can’t seem to find your way back out again. LOL

  3. April 13, 2009 12:56 pm

    I’m on Twitter and can relate to this post. There’s a delicate balance between staying social and staying on track with writing! (I’m writing a novel in real time and post a chapter every 10 days.) I’ll definitely be visiting We Love YA. Thank you!

  4. April 13, 2009 8:37 pm

    Yes, I know I have a problem. But don’t they say the first thing to beating an addiction is to own up to it. Let’s see if it works.

    Sandie
    Whose eyes are about to fall out of their sockets.

    • Diane Curran permalink*
      April 13, 2009 10:01 pm

      Someone will have to invent a 12 step program soon. Twitters Anonymous.

  5. February 3, 2010 4:40 pm

    nice post…^_^

Leave a Reply

