Skip to content

Random Sunday

April 5, 2009

Now that my entry to the contest is in the mail, I can get back to the editing of the rest of Making the Cut, not just the first 50 pages. Yesterday, it took me a while to work out exactly where I was up to and I ended up editing chapter 15 again. Turns out it needed it. There was still bits of present tense lurking in those words. Now I’ve finished editing chapter 16, I’ve decided to follow the lead of my writing buddy Eleni Konstantine and reward each edited chapter with a break to read a chapter from a published book.

I should have been doing that over the last couple of weeks, maybe then the library book would not have been returned with only one chapter read. Oh well, it can’t have been that captivating.

So my chosen book is Leftovers by Laura Weiss.

leftovers-cover

It’s a YA book written from the point of view of two teenagers, but what really intrigued me was the fact that one girl’s POV is written in second person.  Looking forward to editing each chapter of mine, so I can read a chapter of Leftovers.

In other YA news, our new group blog We Love YA launches tomorrow. I’m sharing blogging duties with YA writers Natalie Hatch, Kiki Lon, Amanda Ashby, Sara Hantz and Vanessa Barneveld. Come and join us for our party each day this week for lots of fun and giveaways.

Steph Bowe has hosted the very charming (and young) YA writer William Kostakis (author of Loathing Lola) on her blog today.  Drop on over and say hi!

Steph, William,Vanessa, Natalie, Kiki, Amanda and I are all on Twitter.  And I am finding it really difficult to keep up. I have Twitterfox, which currently shows 143 twitters since I have logged on this morning. And how many happened overnight? There is no way that you could read them all. But the Twitter experiment will continue. Last night Rob Luketic was twittering about a casting experiment on Twitter but I haven’t checked back to see what happened.

Going out now, the rain has lightened or paused and the big clean-up has begun. This is the river Orara River, five minute walk from our house the day after the flooding:

flood-april-09-027

The water is just under the bridge.

flood-april-09-023

The force of the flood water has knocked down several signs.

It will be a long time before life returns to normal for many people. We were lucky that we weren’t affected other than being stuck at home for a couple of days. Many people have lost everything and many businesses have been severely affected. Just walking around Homebase on Friday, seeing all the businesses removing all their stock, and the stench coming from wet carpets. Now, the rebuilding begins.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2009 1:03 pm

    One More Sleep! and then we go live…

  2. Karina permalink
    April 5, 2009 2:37 pm

    wow the water definitely left some damage. Hope it all sinks away soon.

  3. April 5, 2009 3:44 pm

    I actually influenced someone? Shock, horror. Hope the reward book works out for you.

    I look forward to the WeLoveYA blog – you are a quite a line up.

    And my goodness – what photos. Sad state for those who have lost everything.

  4. April 9, 2009 2:23 am

    Glad your not washed away. It has been a bit devestating hasn’t it. Luckily it might be gone now. I don’t know where all the rain comes from lol.
    Great idea about editing a chapter, then reading one. I might try it.
    Love your photos as well. I’m really into photography.

Leave a Reply

