Skip to content

Running out of ink…

April 2, 2009

I’m printing off my competition entry as I type. All 250 pages. Plus synopsis. Hoping that the ink cartridge will hang in there because the computer is telling me that the status on black is running low. Can anyone tell me why ink is such a rip-off?  Seriously – we need a world wide protest. Stop buying ink, but they know that they’ve got us by the short and curlies.

So, it’s back to work tomorrow. The roads are cleared, the threatened storm did not appear and I’ll be posting the entry off. Another goal fulfilled.

Part of the achievement is due to my online writing buddy, the whip-crackin’ Deanna Carlyle who made me show up and at least attempt to edit or write each night. She also gives good critique, very useful comments and I must also thank Rhonda Stapleton and Donna Caubarreaux for their critiques as part of the IttyBittyNittyGrittyCommittee. It’s always interesting that one will see what another doesn’t.  My critique partner Kiki Lon also had a lot of input on the last round of editing this section of Making the Cut.

Plus I have to give another shout-out to Deanna as she just won First prize in the Young Adult section of the Great Expectations contest. Woohoo!

Not that I need any additional ways to procrastinate but Steph Bowe linked to the Top 50 Australian Writing Blogs, compiled by Jonathan Crossfield.  I’ve only looked at the top couple at this point because I really need to be editing, not adding to my huge list of blog subscriptions, but I know I’ll be returning for another look when time permits. It was nice to see the foxy Max Barry at number 3 (you know Max, whenever I mention you, it has to be ‘the foxy Max’), and I did not know he was writing a serial novel – Machine Man – and posting a page a day to his readers.  I think it’s an interesting writing experiment and I’ve signed up to read the results.

Well, my printer has stopped and brought up the ‘you’ve run out of ink’ message but miraculously, all has printed except the cover page for the comp which I haven’t even typed up yet. That’s fine, I’ll do that at work and hope that at least one of the printers there is working. The sooner all of these comps move to online entries, the better!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2009 7:59 pm

    Phew for just making it with the ink Diane. It is a pain that it is so expensive. With my old printer, I did go the way of refilling myself – but it was so messy and took alot of time. I’m finding my new printer, the cartridge is seeming to last longer. And they are cheaper too – thank goodness!!

    Good luck with the competitions. 🙂

  2. April 17, 2009 5:28 pm

    I like finding random mentions of my name I hadn’t seen before.

    I think you can buy ink where you inject it into the cartridge yourself for about ten dollars — but trust me, unless you are a steady-handed person, it is not worth the mess and stains in the carpet.

  3. May 10, 2009 1:32 am

    Wow! Thanks for the kind comment about my critiquing. I’m taking Margie Lawson’s Deep Editing workshop, so hopefully, I’ll be even better in the future!

Leave a Reply

