Skip to content

Competition Fever (and a bit of Edward Fever)

March 29, 2009

The blog has a new look. Robbie now has Photoshop elements on his computer thanks to the recent ‘training bonus’ so I was able to make a banner using the vamp photo I altered on Photofunia. And everyone who knows me, knows I luuuurrrrvveeee purple. Come and visit the site if you are using a reader, or you’ll miss out on the new look.

Speaking of love, I’ve caught Edward fever again. Photos like this don’t exactly help curb the addiction.

new_moon_poster_edward

This week I wrote a radio play. Actually I didn’t  ‘write’ it as such. I cut and paste  scenes I’d written before, edited, added some words and voila, I had an entry for the NVWG competition. I started writing this play in 1994 so its only taken me 15 years to write. That’s a very long gestation. So why could I finish it now and not then? The play is about rape, and back then, I think I got too weighed down by the politics of rape. I have pages and pages of research notes. I was approaching the play from too wide a scope, not narrowing down and focusing on the really important stuff, the personal. This competition had a limit of 10 minutes on the performance piece. Only having a short amount of time meant that I had to focus the story again and work out what was important. So now we have a short introduction, the rape incident, the interrogation by the detectives, the aftermath and rebuilding her life. It’s back to the personal. The politics belong somewhere else.

The entry was submitted yesterday and I’m feeling very proud of shaping it together so quickly. And proud that it is yet one more writing project that I’ve started at some point, and is now complete.

We did a novella workshop at my writers group yesterday and then I came home and spent much of the night thinking about the mechanics of the group and what everyone wanted (some nice dreams of our own home for the group were suggested). I built a closed email group for NVWG and added 30 people to the group. That is a lot of active members. Wow! I’m hoping the email group will take a bit of pressure off me as secretary as members can communicate with the group as a whole, because at the moment I feel I don’t have enough hours in the day. And that’s because I don’t.

At midnight last night, I decided I would enter the latest Romance Writers of Australia contest, which closes on Friday. Thanks Tracey and Sandie for the nudging/encouragement/pushing. (At least I’m pacing my competitions, the next one –Women’s Weekly– closes on April 21). So I opened version 2 of the synopsis, fearful of what I would see. Expecting to see 5 pages that would have to be whittled down to 2. It was just over 2 pages. A little slicing and dicing and rewording, and the synopsis is ready. Now to return to the first 50 pages — this is the part that still needs to be converted into past tense. (any webtools out there that will convert at the press of a button?)

So its back to the editing for me.

What are you up to?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2009 5:58 pm

    I like the new you Di! very purple…lol Oh and the Edward pic isn’t that bad now is it?

  2. Karina permalink
    March 29, 2009 8:31 pm

    Ohhh it looks so pretty ! And as a fellow fan of purpelising the planet – of course I approve hehehe.

  3. March 30, 2009 8:24 pm

    Oh Diane,
    I loovvee your new site, very cleaver of you.

    Sandie

  4. April 1, 2009 8:07 pm

    Great look Diane. Well done.

Leave a Reply

