Skip to content

Editing gets sucked into the black hole of the internet

March 8, 2009

Well, I started the weekend with really good editing intentions.

I edited 7 pages on Friday night bringing the total for the week to 19 pages.  (My EIAW goal is 50 pages – oops!) And then on Saturday morning, I fell into the black hole of the internet and did not re-emerge for a long hazy time. I heard about #queryfail day on Twitter, went and found the results and kept reading and reading and reading.  I think the search.twitter.com gave me 98 pages of results. That’s a lot of twitters to read. But I found new people to follow on twitter (I’m chickollage on twitter) and learned a lot about what NOT to do in a query. Very educational.

I also found myself wading through wordpress blogs, youtube clips…if it was supposed to distract me, it did its job very well.

This  morning I shut down the internet very early and went back to editing. I cleaned up my ‘track changes’ on the three chapters I had edited this week, and I started a spreadsheet which compares the last draft to my new edits, comparing word count, paragraph count, and page count. And in each edited chapter, I have added words and paragraphs, and sometimes pages.  It is good in one way – I needed to layer – but in another way, I need to lose words to get this sucker under 100k…which means that whole scenes may need to disappear. And there will be scenes later that need to be rewritten in the hero’s POV.

I’m glad I have the lessons I learned from Margie Lawson’s workshop at the RWA conference last year to back me up. I think I’m going to need them!

Tonight I’m looking forward to watching Lost in Austen starring Jemima Rooper.  I thought she was fabulous as the lesbian ghost Thelma in Hex. Though now I’m feeling guilty about my lack of editing, I will probably record the show and edit instead.

If only Write or Die had a way of keeping me on track with editing.  Dr Wicked, can you invent an Edit or Die?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2009 7:50 pm

    I so understand falling into the black hole of the internet!!

    Hope the coming week is more productive.

  2. March 13, 2009 10:02 am

    Haha, it’s like you just described one of my procrastination days! Twitter is so good, but so evil… you can just sit there for hours and watch the posts go by!

    But congratulations on being so far into the writing process. I can’t wait until I have a completed first draft to edit. That’s such a big milestone!

Leave a Reply

