Skip to content

From love polygon to love triangle

March 4, 2009

Woohoo, 136,978 words and four months of writing and Kirsty and Dylan have finally extricated themselves from the Love Polygon and attained their Happily Ever After.

Zokutou word meter
136,978 / 136,978
(100.0%)

I’m very proud of this effort because 1) I wrote the whole thing from start to finish to middle in just over 4 months without getting distracted by another idea  2) It is the longest piece that I have ever written.

I’m going to miss these characters, the components of the Love Polygon:

Kirsty

sherilyn_fenn_062

Dylan  johnny_depp_37

Adrian

adrian-greiner1

Siobhan

080306charlizetheron2

Luke

luke-image1

and Chloe

chloe-image2

and I’m also going to miss Genevieve d’Vine, though she wasn’t mixed up in the polygon (however, she has managed to extricate herself from her pesonal love triangle):

31740-hi-cher-whitelace

The characters  were fun to spend time with and often had minds of their own. I wasn’t expecting Billy, the mythical Bilby Creek crocodile to appear in anecdote. In fact, I’d never heard of him, never even imagined him until Kirsty told Mike the camera man of his ‘existence’ – which resulted in Mike running out of the creek so fast that he nearly wet himself.  LOL.

But I’m not saying goodbye to these characters completely. Now I’m returning to the original love triangle between Luke, Chloe and Kirsty – the story that began it all, and introduced me to Bilby Creek:  Making the Cut.

And of course, Genevieve d’Vine features a lot in this part of the story.

I’ve written over 56k so far this year. Now it’s time to move onto the second part of my Write Edit Submit mantra.

EDIT!

write-edit-submit-121Image from Typogenerator

This week is the Edit in a Week challenge for Romance Writers of Australia. I’ve set a goal of 50 pages. Plus I’ve signed up to Nanoedmo for the month of March, which requires 50 hours of editing in the month.  So it’s time to reabsorb myself back into Bilby Creek and also reread some lessons on editing.  Back to work!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 1:40 pm

    Congratulations on finishing your novel Diane, you have done so well to stick to the one piece for so long. Now tell me what was your secret because I need to be able to do that as well. LOL.

    Good luck with your editing, I haven’t even started today. I’m soooo bad.

    Sandie

  2. March 4, 2009 1:49 pm

    Well will you just look at that! The damn woman drives me crazy all morning about wanting to blog, then she goes and takes the words right out of my head. I should have stuck with Sandra Carrington, she was much more polite.

    So anyway, I’m very pleased you finished ‘Love Polygon’ well done. Good luck with your editing. I know you will achieve what you need to.

    And I have no idea what Cassandra is talking about not getting any editing done this morning because she is not even doing editing!!! LOL. Lord I need to get a life away from writing.

    Sandie (The real one) LOL

  3. Monique Wood permalink
    March 4, 2009 2:59 pm

    Well done, Diane!!! So glad you’ve completed it. Next step is the editing. Yay, for you!!!!

    And Sandie, you really DO have identity issues!! Lol.

Leave a Reply

