Skip to content

A real reality check

February 21, 2009

Wow! Reality Check has now surpassed the 120k mark and I’m very close to the end, thanks to my nightly writing appointments on Write or Die with Deanna Carlyle.

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
120,243 / 125,000
(96.2%)

This is the longest piece I’ve ever written, and for the moment I am disregarding the chunk that I’ve missed in the middle.  The writing appointments have really made me focus on the piece, and even be organised about the rest of my life such as eating, making sure it’s all done with before I sit down and write.

Prior to my writing appointment, I was scanning old family photo albums – including pictures of my mum as a baby, and a child, and her wedding, which made me rather melancholy.

The last two weeks, the horrific Victorian bushfires have been at the back of my mind. My partner and I have discussed what we would ‘rescue’ if we had to evacuate (me the cat, him his video camera), and the news reports have been a constant reminder of the grief and loss that people are feeling. Whole families have lost their lives, whole towns have been all but wiped off the map. But after two weeks of the news and the photos, I had almost started to harden to it and perhaps that was because of the lack of journalistic ability by the reporters. They had become just reports, not people’s stories. Until I read Richard Glover’s column in the Sydney Morning Herald today.  Simple, human stories that brought me to tears.

Tomorrow will be a National Day of Mourning. But it should also be a National Day of Gratitude, for those people who still have their lives, their families and their homes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 25, 2009 5:10 pm

    Great going on the writing front Diane, good on you.

    Sandie

Leave a Reply

