Skip to content

Flooded in

February 17, 2009

I tried to go to work today. Really I did. But after a night of constant rain (reported to b 140mm) I was very doubtful that I’d make it to work.

This is what I saw:

Morrow Road under a lot of water

Morrow Road under a lot of water

The Orara River is a lot deeper and wider than the day before

The Orara River is a lot deeper and wider than the day before

I was back home within five minutes.

According to the Bureau of Meterology, this is moderate flooding.  Only moderate? I hope I never see major flooding.

The rain has stopped for the moment, but that’s no guarantee that it won’t start again, and it will take a while for the water to subside.  Meanwhile north Bellingen is being evacuated.

So now the day is stretching out in front of me and I better make the most of a bonus day off (especially as I worked all weekend).

I have writing dates set up for this evening and I think I’m only 3 chapters or so from the end of Reality Check so I might put in an extra push today – see how far I get.

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
115,570 / 125,000
(92.5%)

Dylan has just been busted by Genevieve emerging from Kirsty’s bedroom naked, when he thought they were alone in the house – he’s going to have to do some fast talking now.

Hehe! It’s all coming together, the storylines, plots and sub-plots are converging, and  I can see the end. This is the first time in a long time that I haven’t written the final scene of the novel when I’ve reached the two-thirds mark. Perhaps that is because I outlined it before I began writing, so I’ve always known exactly where it’s been heading.  There’s still a gap in the middle which I’ll have to go back and fill, along with cutting out the ‘Gypsy’ musical story thread.

Other possiblities for the day: critique, edit chapter 5 of Making the Cut, update the Nambucca Valley Writers group blog, cut out words from magazines to create erotica collage poetry, watch a movie – maybe Juno – see, with a creative mind, there is never a chance of having nothing to do or getting bored.

See you when the floods subside.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2009 8:17 pm

    Hi Diane,
    Geeish, yes if it continues it won’t be good. What amazes me is that fires are to the south and floods north, and now this.
    I hope the weather forecasters have it wrong for tonight and tomorrow.
    Thanks for letting me know. Keep safe,
    Suz 🙂

  2. February 19, 2009 12:14 am

    Be safe Diane. amazing pics btw!

Leave a Reply

