Skip to content

New toys and new shows

February 12, 2009

I’m settling into the lounge to watch True Blood, and I have one of the Charlaine Harris novels to read over the weekend. Not sure if watching the show before reading the novel is a good idea. It certainly didn’t work in the case of Dexter.  I prefer the TV series much more – perhaps its because they had more room to develop characters in a 13 part series. After True Blood, I will watch the next episode of Dexter.

img_0466

For a long time, I’ve wanted to buy  a graphic tablet, so I can draw straight into the computer. But I have put it off as not a priority.  On Monday, my partner came home from his first day at a Digital Media TAFE course and informed me that he needed to get a graphic tablet for the course. Now, I’ve been checking out the local Hardly Normal store and ve they rarely have any graphic tablets in there. So I went online straight to Deals Direct and purchased one on Monday night. Very impressive service. I received my new toy today. It took me a little while to figure it out, and I probably need to get Photoshop Elements to make full use of its facilities, but now I’m drawing straight onto the computer like the unpracticed amateur I am.

Here’s a new collage poem that I assembled at the writers’ retreat.

collage_0005

I have to keep adjusting my word goal for Reality Check, as the story continues to grow and I realise I still haven’t reached the end. I will need to do a lot of writing on the weekend to catch up as the week has slipped away from me yet again. Too busy with work, and the ‘to do list’ which I have managed to whittle away. Clear the decks, clear my head, clear the ‘to do list’ – it’s time to write!

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
109,139 / 120,000
(90.9%)
4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2009 9:54 am

    I think it’s awesome that there is so much story left! It measn once you get back to the editing process, it won’t be so hard to streamline things and cut the fluff.

    For me, it’s always the other way around. The first draft is sparse with lots of [[insert scene here]] notes all through.
    Then in the second draft I have to try and get up to word count. *Then* I can start to cut again…

    I like your poem. Very evocative.

  2. February 13, 2009 12:06 pm

    Yay on being able to get the new toy when you didn’t think you would 🙂

    As for True Blood – I’ve only read the first of the Sookie Stackhouse books. I enjoyed it and so far they have kept to the feeling of the books (abit of fiddling and they have added a characterthat I can’t recall from the book – maybe they are in later books). I enjoyed the first episode and plan to continue watching.

    Great collage, and good luck with Reality Check.

  3. February 13, 2009 10:28 pm

    I see you have some wine there! I have a neat little wine blog that perhaps you would enjoy reading occasionally. Cheers!

  4. Karina permalink
    February 15, 2009 6:45 pm

    Ms Diane thank is a great natural photo of you!!! And nice wineglass too !

Leave a Reply

