Skip to content

Playing catch-up

January 18, 2009

It’s Sunday morning and I’m wondering where the hell the week went.

In my new position, I’m working 5 days a week (no more rostered days off) and that is already playing havoc with my non-work schedule.  It means that I have to do my father’s accounts this weekend, instead of using a free weekday to complete the task. Theoretically I should be working less hours each day but that doesn’t feel like the case, when I’m trying to pay back some flex, and then build some up.

So, I need to get more organised (and spend less time on the net).

I’ve only written 929 words so far this week. There are several days during the week that seem to be a write-off so if I don’t get any writing done at lunchtime, then no writing gets done that day.  On Wednesdays  I ‘m generally doing a crit with my new crit group, Friday night is reserved for the RWA chat, Saturday is often taken up with shopping or workshops.  And with a Writing for Performance workshop coming up next weekend, and the NVWG Writers’ Retreat the week after, I need to get my act together.  I need to get this first draft finished! (89,972 words and still growing).

Trouble is, my heroine Kirsty wants to run away at the moment.  She’s very reluctant about the upcoming sex scene. Mainly because it’s not with the guy she wants, and yet he is going to be in the room along with two cameramen (Seriously, who in their right mind would agree to go on a reality show?).  Kirsty and Dylan have each signed contracts agreeing that they won’t have sex with cast/crew of the show so they have been unable to continue their relationship while the reality show is in production.  Meanwhile, the executive producer has hired a gorgeous actor, Adrian, to seduce Kirsty on camera. She’s worked out that he’s an actor, but is tempted to go along with it hoping that Dylan will become jealous and stop them, but now she’s having second thoughts. Adrian is about to convince her that they don’t actually have to do anything more than kiss, everything else can be simulated — but I wonder if he’s actually going to stick to that plan?

The only way for me to find out is to keep writing….

And how about a real life Adrian for inspiration for the character of the actor:

adrian-greiner

One thing that will work in my favour…

…my laptop goes to hospital on Monday to deal with the warning of the imminent apocalypse. (Was supposed to happen on Friday but the local courier didn’t get the message to pick up) Must remember to back up this evening as I had a few heart stopping moments during the week when I couldn’t turn the lappy on and access my current draft. That would have been 5000 words + down the drain. Lucky the computer started playing nice again when I attached an external mouse and worked out that the touchpad wasn’t responding and I was able to back up to the external drive. Touchpad is now working so it was probably a memory issue (I can so relate to that!) So while the lappy is away,I will only have intermittent access to the net – I’ll have to share a computer. Ug! But I’ll be pouding away on the Alphasmart and uploading my words in the meantime.

The most exciting news of the week is that my fabulous critique partner Kiki has landed herself an agent. Way to go, Kiki!!! Go to her blog to read her story and how persistent she was in her search for an agent.

So…the WRITE, EDIT, SUBMIT mantra works and Kiki is proof of it.  I’ve spent many years only concentrating on the first part of the mantra…”WRITE”.  As soon as I finish the first draft of Reality Check, I will be concentrating on the middle one  “EDIT”, then the last one “SUBMIT”. There’s a lot of work to be done but with Kiki as a great role model, and a whip-cracking critique partner, I can do it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2009 3:51 pm

    Hope you get your computer back quick, at least you have your alhpasmart to work with. As for finding enough hours to write, sorry don’t have any answers to that one, I don’t work and still don’t have enough hours in the day.

    Chat soon.
    Sandie

  2. January 19, 2009 2:08 pm

    I remember the days of Flexi and trying to pay it off (urgggh) and trying to work some up (urrghhh). Still was very handy to have. In previous jobs, no flexi, set times, no ifs or buts.

    Hope the computer is feeling well soon. Happy writing!

  3. Monique Wood permalink
    January 19, 2009 6:44 pm

    Sorry to hear about your new work schedule, Diane. Good luck with juggling your time 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Playing catch-up « Write on Track

Leave a Reply

