Skip to content

A relaxing Christmas

December 26, 2008

Christmas has never been the same since my mum passed away.  When mum left the building, much of the fun of Christmas left with her.

And now with my family scattered all over the place, we usually find that Christmas is just the three of us:  me, Robbie and the cat. So my aim is to make it as relaxing as possible.

This year I think I succeeded in my goal:

No cooking.  We bought a barbecue chicken from the supermarket, slices of turkey breast, and a portion of leg ham so for the first Christmas in a few years, I was not slaving over a hot oven, wondering if it could possibly get any hotter in the kitchen. We ate everything cold with a salad.  And I didn’t even cook the little puddings – Robbie put those in the microwave and served with ice cream.

No travel.  We relaxed.  Watched Christmas present DVDs, Vicar of Dibley Christmas specials on pay TV, and a special on Extras which I only caught a part of,  plus An Audience with  the Wicked cast (so sad to see Rob Guest alive and well on TV again, RIP Rob).  Reading, web surfing, resting.  Bliss.

100_0954

And there’s the Christmas haul:

I think Robbie was a bit put out that I guessed what the frypan was – but he had told me that he’d bought something practical, and our old one was broken and the size was a dead giveaway.

Amongst the DVDs are Mama Mia, Get Smart (the first series), Six Feet Under (last season), Starstruck (the old Aussie movie), and The Picture Show Man (another Aussie classic) and I scored a 3.5 digital picture frame with an alarm clock. Not sure if I’ll be able to use it at work as it runs on power and I don’t know whether I have access to a spare power point.  But I’ll go and buy a spare memory card and load up some photos on it today.

And I got my Twilight fix: The Illustrated Movie Companion.  Could the text have been any more dry and dull?  Doubt it! How about some funny anecdotes from the filming instead of the history of the stunt coordinator? At least it has lots of nice photos of Edward to look at.  Guess I’ll have to wait till the DVD comes out with commentary to get the anecdotes about filming.

So that was my Christmas….how was yours?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2008 6:47 pm

    So glad you had a nice relaxing Christmas. Cooking on Christmas Day is the pitts which is why I don’t do it. LOL. We had prawns, ham, chicken and salad. I got a new office chair, YAY great for my back.

    Hope you enjoy the rest of your Christmas break.
    Sandie

  2. December 27, 2008 4:20 pm

    Sounds like a lovely Christmas Diane. Nice range of pressies. I had a lovely day with my family at my cousin’s house. Eating plenty of food, having a laugh, and just enjoying everyone’s company.

  3. Karina permalink
    December 27, 2008 9:57 pm

    omigod is Starstruck finally on DVD ? Blimey I remember attending the films grand premier ! Soooooo many years ago.
    It sounds like you guys had a nice stress free day.

    • dianecurran permalink*
      December 27, 2008 10:20 pm

      Not only is it on DVD but is also has a commentary (doesn’t say who with), an interview with Gillian Armstrong, the producer and the cinematographer,alternate, extended and deleted scenes and Body and Soul on countdown. Haven’t watched it yet.

      Looks like the Aussie movie archives are finally getting their act together because I also got The Picture Show Man and I saw Monkey Grip was out as well – will probably go back and buy that one. They were at Target for $8.99 each. Bargain!

Leave a Reply

