Skip to content

A swag of Christmas goodies….

December 25, 2008

Leading up to Christmas,  our Christmas tree looked very lonely.  It was decorated and pretty with lights twinkling, but underneath was bare. Usually I have Christmas presents wrapped for weeks leading up to Christmas but this year I did the shopping very close to the last minute, or presents were on layby. I finished the shopping for presents for my family over the weekend, wrapped them on Sunday night, then posted them Monday morning.  So the tree remained without gifts…..

…..until Christmas Eve, when suddenly it exploded with presents.

christmas-2008

We also picked up three parcels from the general store/post office on Christmas Eve.

A couple of pressies from Robbie’s mother.

My writing pal Sandie sent me The Marshall Plan for Novel Writing as she had a spare copy. (and I will send her The Pocket Muse in return)

And a big, hugely anticipated parcel from Lynn Viehl, Paperback Writer, which contained the following:

100_0950

Loads of great writing books:

  • The Pocket Muse,
  • The Pocket Muse Endless Inspiration,
  • A Writer’s Space,
  • The Daily Writer,
  • No Plot? No problem novel writing kit,
  • A Writer’s Book of Days,
  • Writing Erotic Romance (this one will come in very handy when I give my workshop on Writing Sex to my writers’ group retreat in February),
  • The Writer’s Book of Matches: 1001 Prompts to ignite your fiction (lots of useful stuff for the writers’ group in here and I may start sending out some daily writing prompts to them to kickstart some creativity),
  • The Writer’s Complete Crime Reference Book (this one will be donated to  my writers’ group library)
  • and a gorgeous journal.
  • Lynn also sent me a print out of her book on writing: The Way of the Cheetah and her novel Master of Shadows, which I am looking forward to reading.

I won this amazing prize on the Paperback Writer blog and I can thoroughly recommend the  blog for information on writing and writing discussion.  Thank you Lynn for being a high point in my rollercoaster of a week (amidst car breakdowns and bills).

Along with Karina’s challenge in the comment section of my post “The Last Buttock of Dylan”, I have been thinking about my writing goals for 2009 and challenges I wish to accept or set for myself. So stay tuned, somewhere between Christmas and New Year, I will do a 2008 review of my writing, and set my goals for the next year.

Meanwhile, I have some Christmas presents to unwrap….

dorkus-christmas-copy-small

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

