Skip to content

Party

November 19, 2008

diane-anthology

On Saturday night, we celebrated the 20th anniversary of the Nambucca Valley Writers Group, and the launch of their third anthology: The Fourth Saturday.

Here I am in glamorous check-out chick mode, and behind me are the collages I made of many of the photos I’ve taken of the group over the years.

My short story ‘Are you a real person?’ (dedicated to all my customers who’ve asked the question – and believe me, they do!) is in the anthology, along with 5 of my collage poems. It’s a bumper 260 pages.

Nano is going quite well (over 37k), though I have been taking a bit of a breather over the last few days and not pushing myself so hard. So an easy day for me means 380 words. I’m very pleased at this point that I have written every single day in November, and kept my head in the story.

Only two more days of work to go before I have the rest of November off to write, and to catch up on sleep. I’m not sure that I will finish the whole first draft of this novel by 30 November, but I’m certainly going to write like a demon as soon as I get through the working week. The Alphasmart has been fabulous as I have been able to produce substantial wordage when I’d otherwise be sitting idly as a passenger in the car. It has also provided me with a replacement ‘A’ key seeing my laptop ‘A’ key has fallen apart. While I replace “A’ with ‘@’ in the occasional email when I don’t have Alphie plugged in, I don’t think I want to have a novel filled with ‘@’ that then need to be replaced.

There will be more photos of Saturday night to come, once I’ve scanned the photos I took with my old-fashioned camera.

Now it’s past midnight, and I really should not be awake….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Monique Wood permalink
    November 20, 2008 12:48 pm

    Gorgeous photo, Di. It should be your new profile pic.

    I’m really proud of you for getting such a great word count. Well done 🙂

  2. November 20, 2008 2:28 pm

    OMG!! Don’t you look gorgeous!
    I’m jealous, I want to belong to a writing group for 20 years.
    RC

  3. November 21, 2008 12:07 pm

    You’ve been nominated!!
    For a I Love Your Blog award!
    By me!
    Go to my blog as see.
    RC

  4. November 21, 2008 5:23 pm

    Love your photo, you sexy thing. Hope you enjoy your time off.

    Sandie

Leave a Reply

