Skip to content

Brainstorming for Nanowrimo

October 11, 2008

Next Monday, our office will be moving into a new building.  I’m excited because it means I’ll no longer have to go through any traffic lights to travel to work, there’ll be ample parking and no parking inspectors lurking, and we’ll be getting new chairs, new desks, and best of all, new computers.

In our team meeting, we were given the opportunity to choose our new seats from our team’s designated area.  My current pod buddy, Fay, said she wanted to sit next to me again because she enjoys reading my stories. How sweet is that!

On Friday, I enlisted her to do some brainstorming with me on my Nanowrimo novel as she’s read the first three chapters and a few later pivotal scenes in Making the Cut.

I said I wanted Kirsty and Genevieve d’Vine to appear in a musical together again but I wanted a musical with a really strong story based on female characters. They could not be supporting roles.  Fay said you need a mother and daughter musical and immediately I thought of Gypsy.  Perfect stage mother role for Genevieve and the Natalie Wood role for Kirsty. (especially as Kirsty has a bit of a resemblance to Natalie Wood).  And Kirsty tells me its about time Genevieve played someone her own age.

Natalie Wood in Gypsy

Natalie Wood in Gypsy

When I arrived home, I checked the Austar guide for a screening of Gypsy and found that I had just missed the Bette Midler version by one day.  Doesn’t matter.  I’ll check the video shop and try and find the Natalie Wood version.

So the story is starting to take shape, the TV show is going to force Genevieve and Kirsty to share a house, as well as star in the production of Gypsy, and the reality TV director that Kirsty brings back to Bilby Creek has been named Dylan after days of agonising about his name.  I wonder if the Baby Names book I had on my desk at work will start any rumours. And I have 12 pages of notes for the story.  This is the most prepared I have ever been for Nanowrimo…so bring it on.

But it is still a few weeks away so its back to Bilby Creek for some more editing of Making the Cut.  And Kirsty will just have to wait until November to tell her story.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

