Skip to content

Writing Buddies

September 28, 2008

Yesterday was the first time I could attend a Nambucca Valley Writers Group meeting since June.  In July, the meeting clashed with our trip to the Byron Bay Writers Festival (very pleased to see that there won’t be a clash next year) and then the August meeting coincided with my trip to Melbourne to attend the Romance Writers Conference (also no clash next year, yay!)

It wasn’t as if I haven’t been writing, editing and attending workshops during this time.  I’ve done all that. My writing output hasn’t changed as a result of missing meetings. But I’ve missed my real life writing buddies. I’ve missed that extra face to face stimulus, the shared laughter, the reading aloud, the celebration of everyone’s progress.  And we had all that and more yesterday.

There were new faces since my last meeting.  And faces I’d only met recently.  And it was very exciting to hear testimonials from some of the new members about how much the group has inspired them, and how much they have been writing since joining the group.

It was a women’s only meeting. Not by design, just how it happened.  It may have been a good thing as Maggie was blushing when she read out her latest erotic story.  And now Maggie and I will be doing a combined Writing Erotica/Sex Scenes workshop at our writers’ retreat next year. (Yes, we’re going back to Smoky Cape)

Caz showed off the proof copy of our 20th Anniversary anthology, appropriately called The Fourth Saturday.  The anthology is 300 pages and will be launched at our 20th birthday party on November 15 and we’re all to dress up for the occasion. I’d like to wear my bat wings again, but they’re not really appropriate in a theatre setting.

Caz with the spiffy new NVWG anthology

Caz with the spiffy new NVWG anthology

The anthology includes my short story ‘Are you a real person?’, set in a call centre along with 5 or 6 of my collage poems. The collage poems look so good that I’m inspired to create my own combined anthology with my friend Jen, the collage queen. She and I have been kicking around the idea of an anthology but not getting very far with it. For me, novel writing always takes precedence over the collage stuff.  But I’ve got a long weekend coming up (4 days off!) so I think I may start playing around with a layout.

My wonderful online writing buddies sustain me and motivate me on a daily basis.  And sometimes I’m lucky enough to meet them in person. But there’s nothing like real life writing buddies to pass your first published short story to, to share successes, and to work on a collaborative project.  I hope that all my online writing buddies will one day turn into real life writing buddies.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2008 12:27 pm

    I’m glad you had such a great day with your writing group. I’ve just been over to NaNo and signed up for this year, updated my Author Info and got my badges to post all over my blogs. (Well some of my blogs andyway).

    Chat soon
    Sandie

  2. September 30, 2008 1:04 am

    Seems like you had a great time.

    I love your new template!

  3. Shelley permalink
    October 7, 2008 7:32 pm

    Hi Dianne

    Do not know why you can find me on NaNo, it is coming up, tried to put buddies and still can’t get it to work, seem to be spending at least an hour at a time trying to solve these things. That’s my writing time.

    Shelley

Leave a Reply

