Skip to content

My new blog

May 17, 2008

Rhian Cahill told me I needed to get out there and create a cyber presence. Although I already have three blogs on Blogger, they are limited and do not allow me the ability to add extra pages as WordPress does, so blog posts get lost to the archives.

So this is my new writing blog, a place where I can give a sneak peek of my writing to the cyber world.

Watch this space for regular excerpts from my (so-far) five complete first drafts of novels, along with the occasional collage poetry, and featured products from my Cafepress store Chickollage.

In June I will be participating in our own version of Nanowrimo, which we have dubbed 50ks in 30 days. ‘We’ are a bunch of writers from Romance Writers Australia. The chicken in me keeps wanting to type 30ks in 50 days, but I know that’s wrong – it’s just my inner critic stamping her heels in and making me think I’m not going to reach the goal this time.

But why not?

I’ve ‘won’ Nanowrimo for the last three years, of course I can write 50ks in 30days.  I just need a good idea. Rather than starting from scratch, I am going to pick up a piece that stands at 25k, ‘Hold the Anchovies’ which is based on my adventures as a young naive pizza delivery girl.  A bit of fact, a bit of fiction and a lot of mozarella.

Meanwhile I am editing ‘Diary of the Future’ for submission.  This is a young adult novel about a 16 year old girl who finds a diary that creates the future.  Very cool!  Imagine what you could do with that!  I will put an excerpt on the site shortly.

And so I don’t feel I have any time to spare before June, I am working the first 3 chapters of ‘I’m with the Band’ and ‘Beyond Happily Ever After’  (the alternative Cinderella story) for a competition. 

So it’s busy busy busy….but that’s the life of a writer seriously aiming for publication.

You may watch the journey here.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. rhiancahillo8 permalink
    May 17, 2008 7:57 am

    Very nice. Love the colors!
    It wasn’t that hard to do was it?

  2. May 17, 2008 9:15 am

    Fantastic Blog. Love the colours etc. I love wordpress has so many great features.

    Hugs
    Sandie

  3. rhiancahillo8 permalink
    May 18, 2008 2:35 am

    I’vejust re-read your post and I’m not sure if I’ve been insulted or praised. You make me sound like I got the whip out, which could be a good or bad thing depending on your outlook.
    I love ya anyway!
    Rhian

  4. dianecurran permalink*
    May 18, 2008 3:06 am

    Praised, praised, praised. I need the whip. Or a good kick up the butt sometimes.

    Thanks,

    Diane

  5. Karina permalink
    May 18, 2008 5:36 am

    Rhian is obviously a whipcrackin taskmaster !! hehehehe. The page looks lovely – really sophisticated.

  6. May 18, 2008 8:49 am

    Nicely done Dianne. Love the design….

  7. May 19, 2008 1:01 am

    I like the theme too. I wish you much success and will be thrilled for you get your writing noticed and published.

    And you need a whip to start editing your work so you can begin the submission process. You’ve written so much already, get it out there :-).

  8. May 21, 2008 12:12 pm

    Love your new look!!

  9. May 23, 2008 12:31 am

    Looks great Diane!
    and what are you worried about 3 time NaNoWriMo winner! you can do this in your sleep!

  10. June 1, 2008 12:24 am

    Great introduction, Diane.

    Love both your blogs!

    If you got through NANO, your a faster writer than me! I can’t move on until first chapters are perfect.

    My bad!!! Talk about needing a whip!

    Pet in Tennessee where thunderstorms a-coming.

  11. November 6, 2008 6:30 am

    Whether you start something new for NaNo or just work on something you already started, you are a winner by keeping up the writing habit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

