Skip to content

How not to write about skydiving

November 17, 2005

I’m back at work. So the word count has not increased hugely since my last post. Shame.

In fact yesterday, I was so stuffed after work that I was in bed by 8pm. Very unusual. But at least the migraine was gone this morning.

Have you ever driven one of those new-fangled modern cars that tells you how far you are from anything behind you? Freaky.

Had a chat to my team leader today. Hello, Lisa, are you reading this? We talked a bit about the novel and she gave me some great inside information about skydiving. As a witness, not as a participant. So I started writing the scene today.

Here’s what not to do:
Do not write a scene about jumping out of an aeroplane as you are waiting to have a blood pressure reading! Seriously, my bp was the highest it has been for a week and a half. So we tried again, about ten minutes later, and I didn’t write during that time. No good. Looks like I’m not going to jump out of a plane anytime soon! Not that I plan to.

Updated wordcount: Not transcribed, so it may be a bit iffy:

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
24,374 / 50,000
(48.7%)
One Comment leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    November 17, 2005 7:55 pm

    Yes, I am reading this. Remember the scream as she plummets to earth.

Leave a Reply

